Past Events

Monday, November 18, 2013 - 12:00pm
Stefano Campana, University of Siena, and Maurizio Forte, Duke University, "Envisioning Digital and Invisible Landscapes in Italy", Smith Warehouse, Bay 10, Room A226 on November 18 at 12 pm. Co-Sponsored by Duke Department of Classical Studies, Department of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies,... Read More »

Friday, November 15, 2013 - 2:15pm
Arek Marciniak, University of Poznań, Poland, "From monumental mega-cities to individual farmsteads: The demise of the Neolithic Çatalhöyük, Anatolia ", Location: Room 226 Allen Building, November 15, Time: 1:10-2:10 p.m.

Monday, November 11, 2013 - 5:00pm
Grant Parker, Stanford University, "Pompey's Pillar, a late-antique monument in Alexandria, Egypt and its post classical history", Location:  UNC-Chapel Hill, Hamilton Hall, room 569, November 11 at 5:00 p.m. Co-sponsored by Duke University Department of Classical Studies

Thursday, November 7, 2013 - 12:00pm
Kathryn Langenfeld will speak on "The Historia Augusta: Reconsidering its Anonymity," 12:00 noon, Room 229 Allen Building.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 - 5:00pm
Jacques Bromberg, Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies, Duke University presents the first in a series of talks on Attic Drama, "The Speechcraft of Aeschylus" on Wednesday, October 23 at 5:00 p.m. in 226 Allen Building.

Thursday, October 3, 2013 - 12:00pm
Josh Sosin will speak on "Endowed Eponymous Festivals on Delos (Did Not Exist)," 12:00 noon, Room 229 Allen Building.

Thursday, September 19, 2013 - 12:00pm
Micaela Janan will speak on "Our Father, Who Art My Lover: Psychoanalysis and Paternity in Statius’ Silvae," at 12:00 noon, Room 229 Allen Building.

Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 12:00pm
Conference in honor of Liz Clark from April 11th to April 13th.

Friday, March 22, 2013 - 12:00pm
Transforming Classics: A Conference in Honor of Peter Burian.

Monday, February 4, 2013 - 5:15pm
Callie Williamson,  PhD, JD, "The Evolution of Roman Legal Practices in the Republican Period" on February 2 at 5:15 pm at 228 Gray.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 5:15pm
Oswyn Murray, "The Western Tradition of Ancient History" on November 14 at 5:15 pm in Gray 228. 

Friday, November 9, 2012 - 12:00pm
Tragic Vision, Democratic Hope: A Conference in Honor of J. Peter Euben. To see the program, visit the link below. http://tragicvisionconference.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/tragic-vision/

Monday, April 9, 2012 - 5:15pm
Carolyn Dewald (Bard College) will speak on "Did Herodotus Believe in the Greek Gods?" on April 9th in Perkins Library Breedlove Room from 5:15-6:15 pm.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 - 5:15pm
Kathleen Lynch, University of Cincinnati, will speak on "Sympotic Pottery from Archaic Athens and Beyond" on March 28th in Allen 326 from 5:15-6:15 pm.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 12:00pm
 Mary T. Boatwright, "Visualizing Empire in Imperial Rome" on March 20th.

Pages