Past Events

Thursday, September 29, 2011 - 5:00pm
Nino Luraghi (Princeton University) will speak on "Freedom, democracy, and memory in early Hellenistic Athens" on Thursday, September 29 at 5 p.m. in 226 Allen Building.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011 - 2:30pm
In cooperation with the Department of Religion Studies, Cavan Concannon will speak on "Not for an Olive Wreath, But Our Lives: Gladiators, Athletes, and Early Christian Bodies in Roman Greece”.

Thursday, April 28, 2011 - 12:45pm
Symposium in honor of N. Gregson Davis, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Classical Studies and Literature. 7 speakers. On April 28th.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011 - 12:30pm
Chad Austino, “Agersis: Women and the Financing of Hellenistic Greek Cults” on April 26th.

Thursday, April 21, 2011 - 12:15pm
Jaclyn Maxwell (local CLST fellow, Associate Professor in Classics and History at Ohio University), "Education, Social Class and Heresy in Late Antique Church Histories” on April 21st.

Monday, April 11, 2011 - 12:45pm
Lecture by Gavin Kelly, Edinburgh University on April 11th.

Friday, April 1, 2011 - 12:45pm
4/1 to 4/2/11 - 22nd Annual Graduate Colloquium, "Refuse and Reuse: The Challenges of Repurposing and Re-imagining in the Ancient World,” Keynote speaker Eric Varner (Emory University)

Monday, March 21, 2011 - 12:45pm
Lynne Lancaster, Ohio University, “Technological Innovation in Imperial Rome: What Can Ancient Concrete Tell Us about Roman Society?” on March 21st.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 - 12:15pm
Alex Loney, "The Program of the Odyssey: The Ethics of Storytelling and Story-listening" on March 15th.

Thursday, March 3, 2011 - 12:15pm
Clifford Robinson, "Platonic Philosophy in Melville's 'The Paradise of Bachelors and the Tartarus of Maids"; Daniel Griffin, "Separating the Men from Boys in the Beroea Gymnasium Decree” on March 3rd.

Friday, February 18, 2011 - 12:45pm
Center for Late Ancient Studies Colloquium, "Re-readings: Interpretation and Appropriation in Late Antiquity" on February 18th.

Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 12:15pm
Josh Sosin, "Integrating Digital Papyrology: News from the Front" on February 17th.

Tuesday, February 1, 2011 - 12:15pm
Laury Ward, "Schools of Thought: competing pedagogies in 4th century Greece"  on February 2nd.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011 - 12:45pm
Lecture by Candida Moss, Notre Dame, "The Discourse of Voluntary Martyrdom: Ancient and Modern" on January 25th.

Thursday, December 9, 2010 - 5:15pm
Alex Meyer, "Tacitus on prominent provincials” on December 9th.

Pages